Medicaid expansion

Six of the fourteen states that have not yet expanded Medicaid to their citizens have the ability to do so through the initiative: Florida, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Wyoming.

It is possible that even if we were to pass the legislation necessary to expand Medicaid in these states, it might be repealed or amended to render it ineffective by the legislatures in those states.

To prevent that from happening, these states should consider also promoting ballot proposal that would amend state constitutions to require referring any amendments or repeal of initiative proposals passed by the voters to a second vote of the people before any amendment or repeal would take effect.